Association Internationale
pour les
Technologies Objets

The AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Winners for 2020

AITO is happy to announce the winners of the Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2020.
The Senior Prize is awarded to Jan Vitek.
The Junior Prize is awarded to Jonathan Bell.
The Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2020 will be given during ECOOP 2020 in Berlin, German, in July 2020.

Jan Vitek Jan Vitek has been a major figure in making PL research relevant to practice. He has worked on observing how software is being developed, how programming languages are being used, and has studied and improved practical (and, in some people's opinion, badly designed) programming languages.

He has dedicated significant effort to community service, from conference organization (including ECOOP) to helping set up the now widely used artifact evaluation system.

Jonathan Bell Jonathan Bell has made significant contributions to tooling in the Java ecosystem that has improved our understanding and ability to test, and discover bugs in, software.

A case in point is his work on lightweight recording of Java executions to describe failures of deployed applications.

The Members of the 2020 Dahl-Nygaard Award Committee are:

The AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prizes are named for Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard, two pioneers in the area of programming and simulation. Their foundational work on object-oriented programming, made concrete in the Simula language, is one of the most important inventions in software engineering. Their key ideas were expressed already around 1965, but took over 20 years to be absorbed and appreciated by the broader software community. After that, object-orientation has profoundly transformed the landscape of software design and development techniques. It was a great loss to our community that both Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard passed away in 2002. In remembrance of their scholarship and enthusiastic encouragement of young researchers, in 2004 AITO established a prize to be awarded annually to a senior researcher with outstanding career contributions and a younger researcher who has demonstrated great potential for following in the footsteps of these two pioneers.

AITO (Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of object technology. As of January 2015, it has 46 members and is registered in Kaiserslautern, Germany. Current President of AITO is Professor Eric Jul. For further information, visit