Association Internationale
pour les
Technologies Objets

The AITO Test of Time Award

In 2016, AITO established an annual Test of Time Award to recognize a research contribution that had a lasting impact on the field. The award is given by AITO at the ECOOP conference to the authors of an ECOOP paper published 20 years earlier.

The award will be given by a three person committee composed of

Recipients of the Award

2021, Aarhus
An Overview of AspectJ. Gregor Kiczales, Erik Hilsdale, Jim Hugunin, Mik Kersten, Jeffrey Palm, William G. Griswold. ECOOP 2001
2020, Berlin
Load-time Structural Reflection in Java. Shigeru Chiba. ECOOP 2000
2019, London
Unifying Genericity - Combining the Benefits of Virtual Types and Parameterized Classes. Kresten Krab Thorup, Mads Torgersen. ECOOP 1999
2018, Amsterdam
Flexible Alias Protection. James Noble, Jan Vitek, John Potter. ECOOP 1998.
2017, Barcelona
Aspect-oriented programming. Gregor Kiczales, John Lamping, Anurag Mendhekar, Chris Maeda, Cristina Lopes, Jean-Marc Loingtier, John Irwin. ECOOP 1997.
2016, Rome
Eliminating Virtual Function Calls in C++ Programs. Gerald Aigner, Urs Hölzle. ECOOP 1996.